Cultivating Spiritual Cravings

I don’t regularly crave McDonald’s. I think it’s a sign of my spiritual maturity (just kidding). I only eat McD’s in good company because it’s a completely different experience from eating it alone. I can never get myself to enjoy eating a filet-o-fish on my own, but it tastes twice as good whenever I eat it with others. Then it becomes a feast.

I’ve heard that if you want to get someone else hungry, the quickest and most effective is to eat in front of them. I’ve also heard that this principle applies to the Bible. Reading it, learning from it, applying it, and enjoying it has to be modeled.

I used to always hear that sort of statement and think, “Gee, I’d better start reading my Bible more so that I can inspire spiritual hunger in others.” But that’s missing the point. The point is not, “Read the Bible more!” Rather, watch others eat!

Yesterday one of the visiting professors from RTS Atlanta, John Yeo, shared his experiences learning from the late Edmund Clowney at WTS California. He told us Clowney would cry often as he walked through the pages of the Old Testament and showed the students how every passage points to Christ. Clowney was anything but a dry scholar during his time on earth. His love for Jesus and his enjoyment of God’s Word was infectious!

Luke 24 records a 7-mile walk with Jesus and two disciples after the resurrection. The disciples didn’t recognize who was walking with them until he led them in the most engaging Bible study ever. Verse 27 says, “And beginning with Moses and all the Prophets, he interpreted to them in all the Scriptures the things concerning himself.” Later on after he left them, the disciples turned to one another and said, “Did not our hearts burn within us while he talked to us on the road, while he opened to us the Scriptures?” (v. 32).

This entry was posted in Reflections, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cultivating Spiritual Cravings

  1. Robert Han says:

    hey Brian! it’s great to read your blog, I appreciate the candidness and the Christ-exalting insight that you give! Hooray for Christ :)

Leave a Reply

